GLUTEN FREE CARROT CAKE

I’ve never made carrot cake before but this could possibly beat any one I’ve ever tried. In general, carrot cake tends to be kind of dry but this was amazingly moist. Also, using honey instead of sugar gave the cake a delicious flavour. You can’t resist having a second piece!

Gluten-free Carrot Cake

Gluten-free Carrot Cake - Key Ingredients

This recipe was inspired by the Healthier Carrot Cake Cupcakes recipe on Texanerin Baking.

Notes:

  • We had a lot of friends and family over on the weekend so I actually tripled the recipe. The cake in the pictures is the recipe doubled, and the other third was made into cupcakes.
  • I’ve been experimenting with using applesauce to substitute eggs when baking so instead of using 6 eggs (since I tripled the recipe) I used 3 and about 1/4 – 1/3 cup of applesauce. It turned out great, and next time I’d like to try the recipe without eggs at all. In fact, I think this was the secret ingredient that made the cake so incredibly moist! Because of this I would also reduce the amount of coconut oil next time, and honey since I had used sweetened applesauce so the cake was a little on the sweeter side. My dad didn’t mind though 🙂
  • I ran out of almond flour so I ended up blending my own almonds…they weren’t blanched but this didn’t affect the taste at all. Although it may be why the cake is a bit darker…
  • Because the recipe is for cupcakes, the cake took much longer to bake than 20 mins. The cake is so moist that it’s pretty difficult to over-bake it!

Gluten-free Carrot Cake

Leave a Reply

